Laion and the Dolomites

What is it you need to do at least once in your life? Hike from Laion out onto the Rasciesa, the landmark of Laion! Why? Because here, in the middle of the Puez-Odle Nature Park you will find a 365° panoramic view such as you won’t find anywhere else. And because you can see the most beautiful mountains of the Dolomites which rank as a UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site from there.

The Dolomites - UNESCO World Natural Heritage

Le Corbusier (1887-1965) already rhapsodised about the Dolomites, this fascinating mountain landscape, he said “The Dolomites are the most beautiful natural architecture in the world.” And he was probably right about that. Their bizarre, steep and towering walls are unique and in 2009 they were incorporated into the UNESCO World Heritage List and designated as a UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site - the highest distinction which can ever be bestowed on a natural site. This entry is however not just a distinction, it’s also an obligation to provide particular protection for this delicate alpine landscape, a protection which must not only be continued but also constantly extended.

And you are particularly able to contemplate this beauty and marvel at it when you’re hiking through this unique landscape near Laion in the middle of the World Heritage Dolomites. From the Rasciesa in particular at 2,282 m, it is possible to admire the most beautiful mountains in the world, the most beautiful UNESCO World Heritage Site.

A tip from us: the Rasciesa is just the right place for viewing the mountains, at evening too, when they show themselves in mystical red shades. This is when you can experience the most beautiful “Enrosadira”, from fiery red to glowing orange to deep purple.


Interesting facts about the World Heritage Dolomites

Designated as World Heritage Site: June 26, 2009
Total area: 142,000 ha
Individual regions: the Dolomite region around Pelmo and Croda da Lago in the Belluno province, the Marmolada group, which extends over provinces of Belluno and Trento as well as the Pale di San Martino, San Lucano, Belluno Dolomites and Vette Feltrine, the Friuli Dolomites and the Oltre Piave which extend over the Belluno, Pordenone and Udine provinces, the Brenta Dolomites in the province of Trento and the Northern Dolomites in the South Tyrol with the famous Three Peaks, the Puez-Odle region, Sciliar -Catinaccio (Schlern-Rosengarten) and Latemar as well as the Bletterbach Gorge.

find out more

Video - Hiking

Panorama - Dolomites